CRA Standing Committees

The CRA depends on its member volunteers to drive the organization in many ways, including the committees listed below. These committees provide specialized guidance to the CRA board of directors, plan conferences and events, and provide regional perspectives on a number of issues. Committees are composed of members from the nine CRA District Councils to achieve a geographically diverse vision and support the CRA in its mission to represent the interests of all 83 county road agencies.

Want to get involved? Contact CRA for information about joining the below committees.

Canvassing Committee

The Canvassing Committee is charged annually with the responsibility of tallying votes for positions on the Association’s board of directors. In addition, from time to time, there will be ballots for amendments to the Association’s Constitution and Bylaws.

Chair: Craig Atwood, PE, Allegan

Vice Chair: Pamela Cahill, Oakland

Kristin Dronchi, Newaygo

Commissioners Committee

The Commissioners Committee shall review questions and policies specifically related to powers and duties of road commissioners, and shall organize seminars, prepare instructional material, supervise the composition of a Commissioners Handbook and engage in such other activities to encourage greater development of the commissioners’ role in road commission matters.

Chair: Ray Roberts, PE, Marquette

Vice Chair: Frank Fiala, Barry

Steve Cameron, Gladwin

Tom Doty, Mackinac

Tim Elkins, Genesee

Michael Frederick, Clinton

Douglas Fuller, Washtenaw

Ronald Gerstenberger,  Sanilac

Lorne Haase, Wexford

Andrea LaLonde, Oakland

David Medema, Kent

Russell Williams, Marquette

Education Committee

The Education Committee shall focus on developing comprehensive, curated educational programming for various levels of staff in road agencies, possibly extending to stakeholder organizations.

Chair: Larry Brown, PE, Allegan

Alex Doty, Ottawa

Ron Gerstenberger, Sanilac, representing Commisioners

Bob Griffis, Jackson, representing SAM

Angela Kline, PE, Jackson

Bobbie Livermore, Chippewa

Engineering Committee

The Engineering Committee shall review and comment on legislation, rules, regulations and criteria promulgated by the federal government or the state which in any way affects engineering principles in the design, construction, maintenance or safety of county roads. It may also make studies and recommendations to establish uniformity of engineering rules, regulations and criteria for the various road commissions.

ChairRobert L. Lindbeck, PE, Alger

Vice ChairCraig Atwood, PE, Allegan

Mathew Hannahs, PE, Eaton

Karl Hanson, PE, Wexford

Wayne Harrall, PE, Kent

William Hazelton, PE, St. Clair

Eric Johnston, PE, Genesee

Angela Kline, PE, Jackson

Lance Malburg, PE, Dickinson

Kristine Parsons, PE, Calhoun

David Pettersch, Gladwin

Brent Shank, PE, Cheboygan

Finance & Human Resource Committee

The Finance and Human Resource Committee shall review and comment on legislation, rules, regulations and criteria promulgated which may in any way affect accounting principles, auditing requirements or business administration of road commissions. It shall assist the Negotiating Committee if requested.

Chair: Melissa Williams, Oakland

Vice ChairMacy Barcheski, Kent

Kristin Dronchi, Newaygo

Beth Hunt, Lenawee

Tracy Khan, Genesee

Bobbie Livermore, Chippewa

Christine Matthews, Oscoda

Julie Mayuiers, St. Joseph

Lisa Powell, CPA, Iron

Linnea Rader, Van Buren

Jennifer Schiebner, Shiawassee

Terri Taylor, Sanilac

General Policy Committee

The General Policy Committee shall concern itself with significant relationships of the Association with one or more county road commissions or between road commissions and relationships with any person or organization outside the Association, and shall set policy on all detail matters not specifically reserved to the Board including but not limited to legislation affecting road commissions and the review and approval or disapproval of recommendations of any other standing committee with all actions of the committee subject to Board review. The Board shall, with a vote with at least eleven (11) members elected and serving, approve any General Policy Committee recommendation which would affect county home rule or county executive legislation and distribution of fuel and vehicular tax monies either through the internal or external formula. (b) The General Policy Committee may develop legislative priorities subject to Board review. The General Policy Committee will conduct an annual review of the legislative priorities, including recommendations from regional councils or individual members. Once the General Policy Committee completes its review, including recommended amendments, the legislative priorities will be forwarded to all member county road commissions for review and debate at the Association’s annual business meeting. To be approved, the legislative priorities require adoption by a majority of member county road commissions in attendance at the Association’s annual business meeting. (c) The General Policy Committee shall meet at least two (2) times each year, once in February and once in October.

Chair: Ken Hulka, Muskegon

Vice Chair: Larry Brown, PE, Allegan

Ron Agacinski, PE, Wayne

Mark Craft, PE, Gratiot

Robb Falls, PE, Sanilac

Robert Laitinen, PS, Chippewa

Scott Merillat, PE, Lenawee

Gregg Patrick, PE, Keweenaw

John Rogers, Kalkaska

Tom Siegler, Oscoda

Legislative Review Committee

The Legislative Review Committee shall provide direction on legislative matters to the Director in the intervals between the Board of Directors meetings.

Chair: Dennis Kolar, PE, Oakland

Vice Chair: Jim Iwanicki, PE, Marquette

Dennis Borchard, Saginaw

Dave Pettersch, Gladwin

Negotiating Committee

The Negotiating Committee shall carry on negotiations for the Association with agencies and departments of the state and other organizations and agencies which may culminate in an agreement with the Association, and shall make recommendations regarding such agreements.

ChairDarryl Heid, Oakland

Vice Chair: Mark Christensen, Montcalm

Bruce Bolen, PE, Iosco

Christopher Bolt, MPA, PE, Jackson

Gerald Byrne, Kent

Jean Frankovich, Schoolcraft

Neal Hentschl, Huron

James Iwanicki, PE, Marquette

Robert Laitinen, PS, Chippewa

Brett Laughlin, PE, Ottawa

John Sanders, Hillsdale

Matt Skeels, Benzie

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee shall annually prepare a list of nominees for the director from each of the four (4) sectional associations as identified in Article VII of this constitution and bylaws. Unless a sectional association, by resolution of its Board of Directors adopted by a two-thirds (2/3) majority vote of its members-elect, or by its bylaws, timely advises the Nominating Committee otherwise, the list of nominees shall include not less than two (2) nominees from each of the sectional associations. Nominations shall be submitted to the Secretary-Treasurer at least sixty (60) days before the annual meeting and ballots shall be mailed to each member at least thirty (30) days before the annual meeting. (b) The Nominating Committee shall meet no later than January 7 of each year at the call of the Chairman.

Chair: Dirk Heckman, PE, Mackinac

Vice Chair: Sheryl Siddall, PE, Washtenaw

Bruce Bolen, PE, Iosco

Randall Dellaposta, Genesee

Public Relations Committee

The Public Relations Committee shall promote Association public relations strategies, at both the Association level and the county road agency level, to educate Michigan residents on the issues relevant to county road agencies.

Chair: Craig Bryson, APR, Oakland

Vice Chair: Emily Kizer, Washtenaw

Elli Blonde, Kalamazoo

Tony Casali, Isabella

Eric Dimoff, Macomb

Alex Doty, Ottawa

Destain Gingell, PE, Lapeer

Maura Lamoreaux, Kent

Bill Luetzow, Marquette

Russell MaGee, Charlevoix

Doug Steffen, Clinton

Mark Timmer, Oceana