CRA Standing Committees

Canvassing Committee

The Canvassing Committee is charged annually with the responsibility of tallying votes for positions on the Association’s board of directors. In addition, from time to time, there will be ballots for amendments to the Association’s Constitution and Bylaws.

Chair: Mary E. Herman, Marquette

Vice Chair: Pamela Cahill, Oakland

Trent Arver, Branch

Kristin Dronchi, Newaygo

Commissioners Committee

The Commissioners Committee shall review questions and policies specifically related to powers and duties of road commissioners, and shall organize seminars, prepare instruction material, supervise the composition of a Commissioners Handbook and engage in such other activities to encourage greater development of the commissioners’ role in road commission matters.

Chair: Frank M. Fiala, Barry

Vice Chair: Chris Sholander, Iron

Tom Doty, Mackinac

Douglas Fuller, Washtenaw

Ronald Gerstenberger,  Sanilac

Lorne Haase, Wexford

Cindy Janes, Kent

Robert Kaarlie, Allegan

Frank M. Leiva, Iosco

Dorothy Maxwell, Eaton

Frederick Sterns, Alpena

Russell Williams, Marquette

Education Committee

The Education Committee shall focus on developing comprehensive, curated educational programming for various levels of staff in road agency, possibly extending to stakeholder organizations. 

Chair: Larry Brown, Allegan

Vice Chair: Alan Cooper, Wexford

Lance Malburg, Dickinson

Joseph D. Pulver, Clinton

John Strauss, Kent

William L. Watkins, Hillsdale

Engineering Committee

The Engineering Committee shall review and comment on legislation, rules, regulations and criteria promulgated by the federal government or the state which in any way affects engineering principles in the design, construction, maintenance or safety of county roads. It may also make studies and recommendations to establish uniformity of engineering rules, regulations and criteria for the various road commissions.

ChairRobert L. Lindbeck, PE, Alger

Vice ChairMark Craft, PE, Gratiot

Daniel R. Armentrout, PE, Clinton

Craig Atwood, PE, Allegan

Thomas Blust, PE, Oakland

Corey Clevenger, MS, PE, Jackson/Clahoun

Karl F. Hanson, PE, Wexford

William Hazelton, PE, St. Clair

Angie Kline, PE, Calhoun

Lance Malburg, Dickinson

Tim O’Rourke, Roscommon

Bret Shank, Cheboygan

Finance and Human Resource Committee

The Finance and Human Resource Committee shall review and comment on legislation, rules, regulations and criteria promulgated which may in any way affect accounting principles, auditing requirements or business administration of road commissions. It shall assist the Negotiating Committee if requested.

ChairKristin Dronchi, Newaygo

Vice ChairKimberly N. Kimmel, Clare

Dawn Goodwine, Jackson

Jennifer Rosser, Shiawassee

Mary E. Herman, Marquette

Beth Hunt, Lenawee

Julie Patterson, Alpena

Ann Simmons, Kalamazoo

John Strauss, Kent

Terry Taylor, Sanilac

Joyce Whisenant, Muskegon

Melissa Williams, Oakland

General Policy Committee

The General Policy Committee shall concern itself with significant relationships of the Association with one or more county road commissions or between road commissions and relationships with any person or organization outside the Association, and shall set policy on all detail matters not specifically reserved to the Board including but not limited to legislation affecting road commissions and the review and approval or disapproval of recommendations of any other standing committee with all actions of the committee subject to Board review. The Board shall, with a vote with at least eleven (11) members elected and serving, approve any General Policy Committee recommendation which would affect county home rule or county executive legislation and distribution of fuel and vehicular tax monies either through the internal or external formula. (b) The General Policy Committee may develop legislative priorities subject to Board review. The General Policy Committee will conduct an annual review of the legislative priorities, including recommendations from regional councils or individual members. Once the General Policy Committee completes its review, including recommended amendments, the legislative priorities will be forwarded to all member county road commissions for review and debate at the Association’s annual business meeting. To be approved, the legislative priorities require adoption by a majority of member county road commissions in attendance at the Association’s annual business meeting. (c) The General Policy Committee shall meet at least two (2) times each year, once in February and once in October.

ChairDarren Pionk, PE, Gogebic

Vice ChairBlair Dyer, Arenac

Robb Falls, Sanilac

Ken Hulka, Muskegon

Rob Laitinen, Chippewa

Scott Merillat, PE, Lenawee

Joseph D. Pulver, PE, Clinton

John Rogers, Kalkaska

Eric Wilson, Oakland

Legislative Review Committee

The Legislative Review Committee shall provide direction on legislative matters to the Director in the intervals between the Board of Directors meetings.

ChairJohn H. Daly III, PhD, Genesee

Vice ChairKelly Smith, Newaygo

Dennis Borchard, Saginaw

Richard Timmer, Chippewa

Negotiating Committee

The Negotiating Committee shall carry on negotiations for the Association with agencies and departments of the state and other organizations and agencies which may culminate in an agreement with the Association, and shall make recommendations regarding such agreements.

ChairDarryl M. Heid, PE, Oakland

Vice Chair:  Mark Christensen, Montcalm

Kelly Bekken, Missaukee

Christopher Bolt, MPA, PE, Jackson/Calhoun

Gerald J. Byrne, Kent

Jim Johnson, PE, Leelanau

James M. Iwanicki, PE, Marquette

Robert Laitinen, PS, Chippewa

Brett Laughlin, PE, Ottawa

Michael P. Schultz, PE, Ogemaw

Kirk Weston, St. Clair

Melissa Williams, Oakland

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee shall annually prepare a list of nominees for director from each of the four (4) sectional associations as identified in Article VII of this constitution and bylaws. Unless a sectional association, by resolution of its Board of Directors adopted by a two-thirds (2/3) majority vote of its members-elect, or by its bylaws, timely advises the Nominating Committee otherwise, the list of nominees shall include not less than two (2) nominees from each of the sectional associations. Nominations shall be submitted to the Secretary-Treasurer at least sixty (60) days before the annual meeting and ballots shall be mailed to each member at least thirty (30) days before the annual meeting. (b) The Nominating Committee shall meet no later than January 7 of each year at the call of the Chairman.

Chair:  Walter Schell, Macomb

Vice Chair: Roy D. Townsend, PE, Washtenaw

Bruce Bolen, Iosco

Dirk Heckman, PE, Mackinac

Public Relations Committee

The Public Relations Committee shall promote Association public relations strategies, at both the Association level and the county road agency level, to educate Michigan residents on the issues relevant to county road agencies.

ChairLawrence B. Hummel, PE, Van Buren

Vice Chair:  Alan D. Cooper, Wexford

Karen Bota, Ionia

Craig B. Bryson, Oakland

Tony Casali, Isabella

Jim Harris, Dickinson

Maura Lamoreaux, Kent

Russell Magee, Charlevoix

Ray Roberts, PE, Marquette

William L. Watkins, Hillsdale

Jake Welch, SWO, Barry

Resolutions Committee

The Resolutions Committee meets at the Association's annual Highway Conference to review and approve resolution for retirements, deaths and other recognitions. The resolutions are presented at the annual business meeting for approval by the general membership.

ChairChris Sholander, Iron

Vice ChairClaire Patrick, Allegan

Shannon Miller, Oakland

Matt Skeels, Benzie